Doug Header.jpg

Thrillers, Science Fiction, and Historical Fiction

non-fiction as J. Douglas Beason, PhD


Kill Zone Doug’s collaborative novel with Kevin J. Anderson was released in hardback, audio and Kindle versions on August 27, 2019 from Forge Books.

Doug’s Op-Ed, “Whatever America's energy future, our nuclear waste problem isn't going anywhere,” inspired by the threat in Kill Zone appeared in the September 3rd, 2019 Washington Examiner

Doug and Kevin J. Anderson    From the KILL ZONE jacket : Power duo Kevin J. Anderson and Doug Beason team up in Kill Zone, a perilous disaster thriller for the modern age.  Deep within a mountain in Albuquerque, New Mexico, a Cold War-era nuclear weapons storage facility is being used to covertly receive more than 100,000 tons of nuclear waste stored across the US. Only Department of Energy employee, Adonia, and a few others including a war hero, a senator, and an environmental activist, are allowed access to perform a high-level security review of the facilities. But Hydra Mountain was never meant to securely hold this much hazardous waste, and it has the potential to explode, taking with it all of Albuquerque and spreading radioactivity across the nation.  This disaster situation proves all too possible when a small plane crashes at a nearby military base, setting off Hydra’s lockdown and trapping Adonia and her team in the heart of the hazardous, waste-filled mountain. Now, the only direction for them to go is deeper into the mountain, through the tear gas and into a secretive area no one was ever supposed to know about.

Doug and Kevin J. Anderson

From the KILL ZONE jacket: Power duo Kevin J. Anderson and Doug Beason team up in Kill Zone, a perilous disaster thriller for the modern age.

Deep within a mountain in Albuquerque, New Mexico, a Cold War-era nuclear weapons storage facility is being used to covertly receive more than 100,000 tons of nuclear waste stored across the US. Only Department of Energy employee, Adonia, and a few others including a war hero, a senator, and an environmental activist, are allowed access to perform a high-level security review of the facilities. But Hydra Mountain was never meant to securely hold this much hazardous waste, and it has the potential to explode, taking with it all of Albuquerque and spreading radioactivity across the nation.

This disaster situation proves all too possible when a small plane crashes at a nearby military base, setting off Hydra’s lockdown and trapping Adonia and her team in the heart of the hazardous, waste-filled mountain. Now, the only direction for them to go is deeper into the mountain, through the tear gas and into a secretive area no one was ever supposed to know about.

“A wonderfully imagined, terrifying scenario that reeks of plausibility. It’s a game within a game―a thrilling, dangerous quest for the unspeakable.” ―Steve Berry, New York Times bestselling author of The Art of War

"Shines light on the greatest security lapse of our age . . . Fans of Dan Brown and Michael Crichton won’t want to miss this high-tech thriller!" ―Ward Larsen, USA Today bestselling author of Assassin's Run


 

Doug’s collaborative novel with Ben Bova, Space Station Down, was bought by Forge Books, via his agent John Silbersack of The Bent Agency.

Space Station Down is Doug’s 18th book and is scheduled for a August 4th, 2020 hardback release.

Doug and Ben Bova

Doug and Ben Bova


Other News

Doug’s OpEd in the Wall Street Journal under J. Douglas Beason

Doug was interviewed by Space News

Doug’s article ‘War at the Speed of Light,’ was published in There Will Be War, Vol. X, Edited by Jerry Pournelle

Doug’s short story, ‘Thunderwell,’ appeared in Carbide Tipped Pens, edited by Ben Bova and Eric Choi, published by Tor.

Doug is currently at work on a science-based thriller, The Carrington Collapse.


The Kindle version of  The E-Bomb, Doug's non-fiction book on Directed Energy weapons, was released by Da Capo Press.  He has lectured on The E-Bomb at the Carnegie Council, the Heritage Foundation, on C-Span, and numerous radio shows and live web-sites such as Coast-to-Coast

Some reviews of The E-Bomb

"… a spirited defense of these new weapons and their likely impact on the battlefield … a solid introduction to directed energy weapons."       

- Publisher's Weekly

"The most comprehensive and up-to-date depiction of the revolutionary change that is about to happen." 

- Naples Daily News

"Directed energy is the wave (and not just the microwave) of the future, the source of weapons that will prove to be revolutionary … will appeal to readers schooled in Tom Clancy."    

- Kirkus